Utah State Poetry Society Annual Book Award

In 1965 Nicholas Morgan and Paul Pehrson initiated a revolving fund to publish a book by the poet whom the Utah State Poetry Society, following a statewide contest, designated Utah Poet of the Year. Under the loving and artistic direction of Kathryn Kay the venture flourished and gained status as a prestigious annual publication. As production costs increased for this limited-edition hardback printing, the UTSPS, assisted by the Utah Arts Council, supplemented the fund. Others have devoted time, talents and materials to sustain the dream. In 1985, Pearle M. Olsen, made a generous monetary donation. Subsequently, the Olsen family has made further contributions to ensure continuation of this unique publication.

Utah Poets of the Year

Ctan	1 octs of the 1 car	
2021	Michael Parker	Divining the Spirits in the House of the Hush and Hush
2019	Markay Brown	Planted In A Storm
2018	Geraldine Felt	Dancing with Monarchs
2017	Anita Krotz	Crosswinds
2016	Duane (dee) Rygh	My Bright Red Scream
2015	Candy Lish Fowler	On a Road That Knows Me
2014	Joyce Webb Kohler	like water, like bread
2013	Jon Sebba	Yossi, Yasser, & Other Soldiers
2012	Dawnell Griffin	On Judgment Day
2011	Lee C. Snell	Night Wind Home
2010	Rosalyn Whitaker Ost	tler Walking the Earth Barefoot
2009	Gail Schemmelfennig	The Frozen Kingdom
2008	Helen Keith Beaman*	Edges Disappear
2007	Ned Colwell Snell	Hand Me My Shadow
2006	Sue Ranglack	Shouting From the Book of Orange
2005	T Kevin Clark	Song of an Oquirrh Son
2004	Maurine Haltiner	A Season and a Time
2003	Judy Johns	If I Could Speak in Silk
2002	Evelyn Hughes*	Furnace of Affliction
2001	Rita Bowles	God in Assorted Boxes
2000	Kolette Montague	Easing Into Light
1999	Marilyn Bushman-Carlton Cheat Grass	
1998	Mikal Lofgren	Trudi Smiles Back
1997	Marilyn Darley Willia	nms The Red Rooster Cafe
1996	Nancy Hanks Baird	The Shell In Silk
1995	Elaine L. Ipson	Where Ghosts Are Garrisoned
1994	Muriel Heal Bywater	Stretching Toward Wild Swans
1993	Margaret Pettis	Chokecherry Rain
1992	Brad Roghaar	Unraveling The Knot
1991	Robert Frederickson	Being There
1990	Elaine Christensen	At The Edges
1989	Maryan Paxton*	Downwind Toward Night
1988	Sherwin W. Howard*	Sometime Voices
1987	Kathryn Clement	Riddlestone

1986	Dorothy Logan C	Child In A Sculptured Bowl
1985	Patricia S. Grimm* T	'imepiece
1984	Joyce Ellen Davis In	n Willy's House
1983	Bonnie H. Behunin* V	Vake The Unicorn
1982	LaVon M. Carroll T	he Shrouded Carousel
1981	Frank M. DeCaria S	ongs Within The Sounds
1980	LaVerde M. Clayson*	Furrows Of Renewal
1978	Pearle M. Olsen* F	Frame The Laced Moments
1977	Clarence P. Socwell In	ntrinsic Tapestries
1976	Caroline E.Miner* L	asso The Sunrise
1975	Helen Mar Cook S	hape Of Flight
1974	LeRoy Burke Meagher*	Beyond This Hour
1973	Geraldine R. Pratt B	Bell On The Wind
1972	Maxine R. Jennings*	A Lamp To Shine
1971	Alice Morrey Bailey*	Eden From An Apple Seed
1970	Max Golightly* A	Morning of Taurus
1969	J. A. Christensen* T	The Deep Song
1968	Betty W. Madsen* T	he Amaranth
1967	Berta H. Christensen*	Walk the Proud Morning
1966	Lael W. Hill A	Legacy Of Years
1965	Vesta P. Crawford* S	hort Grass Woman